Bill of Rights Celebration 2015

May 18, 2015 @ 11:30 am 1:00 pm

Join us for the 2015 Bill of Rights Celebration!  $50 per person, RSVP by May 11th by calling Marion Ecks at 414-272-4032 x218 or register online here.

We will be honoring:

Lifetime Achievement: The League of Women Voters, our invaluable  partners in Election Protection. The League was formed in 1920 by the suffragists who fought for decades to win the right to vote for women. The League is now an organization of both women and men, with a presence in all 50 states, including 17 active chapter in Wisconsin.

Civil Libertarians of the Year:  Eight courageous couples, the  plaintiffs in Wolf v. Walker who brought marriage equality to Wisconsin. Virginia Wolf & Carol Schumacher, Katy Heyning &Judi Trampf, Pam Kleiss & Salud Garcia, Karina Willes & Kami Young, Keith Borden & Johannes Wallman, Charvonne Kemp & Marie Carlson, Roy & Garth Badger, and Bill Hurtubise & Dean Palmer.

Youth Civil Libertarian of the Year: Kavon Jones, a young man who grew up in the ACLU student alliance program, learned how to express himself in a positive way through poetry and spoken word, and now teaches poetry to 8th graders at Escuela Vieau in Milwaukee. He performs his original work regularly at poetry slams around Milwaukee.

Volunteer Attorneys of the Year: We could not have done the Voter ID case without the unstinting contributions of lawyers from Dechert LLP.  Neil Steiner, Angela Liu, Craig Falls, and Diane Princ played central roles in the litigation, from the early stages of working with experts, through discovery, and culminating in an intense two-week trial and appeals going all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court.

All proceeds benefit the education and litigation programs of the ACLU of Wisconsin Foundation.

Register online now!

The 2015 Bill of Rights Celebration is generously sponsored by Chris Abele.

We are also grateful to media sponsors Our Lives Magazine and the Wisconsin Gazette.



Stay informed

ACLU of Wisconsin is part of a network of affiliates

Learn more about ACLU National