Police, Prisons, and Criminal Law Reform

Thursday, March 12, 2015
The American Civil Liberties Union of Wisconsin, along with 11 other community organizations and leaders, have asked for...
Thursday, November 13, 2014
This is the enduring image of Scott Panetti, a severely mentally ill man on death row in Texas: a paranoid schizophrenic...
Friday, October 24, 2014
Eighteen community organizations signed the following letter to Mayor Tom Barrett; Alderman Michael Murphy, Common Council...
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
The following letter was sent to the Milwaukee Common Council regarding the Public Safety Committee Agenda Item on the...
Monday, September 29, 2014
The following letter was sent to the Milwaukee Common Council regarding the Public Safety Committee Agenda Item on the...
Friday, September 26, 2014
Significant racial disparities exist in marijuana enforcement in the City of Milwaukee.  In 2011, African Americans...
Monday, June 23, 2014
In Wisconsin, heavily-armed SWAT teams are raiding people’s homes in the middle of the night, often just to search for...
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
By Angie Trudell Vasquez The time has come to legalize marijuana in Wisconsin. Colorado and Washington have already done...
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
ACLU Executive Director wrote the following letter to the City of Milwaukee's Common Council Public Safety Committee,...
Monday, April 28, 2014
By Helen Vera, National Prison Project Fellow   Her cell was so dirty that a sock rotted into an open wound on...
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
By Jim Moeser, Wisconsin Council for Children and Families We did not quite make it through the legislative maze to get the...
Tuesday, April 8, 2014
By Steven M. Watt & Allison Frankel   Juwan Wickware wasn't the shooter. But he is one of...