LGBT Rights

Friday, November 7, 2014
Since the Supreme Court’s refusal to hear the State’s appeal of the ruling in Wolf v. Walker that same-sex...
Friday, November 7, 2014
Since the Supreme Court’s decision in Wolf v. Walker, the ACLU has received many questions about marriage in Wisconsin...
Friday, November 7, 2014
Since the Supreme Court’s decision in Wolf v. Walker, the ACLU has received many questions about marriage in Wisconsin...
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Wolf and Schumacher v. Walker Timeline In 2006, Wisconsin Referendum 1 passed, and became Article XIII, Section 13 of the...
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
On September 17, 2014, four couples, represented by lawyers from the American Civil Liberties Union, the ACLU of Wisconsin,...
Thursday, September 4, 2014
MILWAUKEE, Wis. – The 7th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals today upheld the district court decision that the...
Monday, August 11, 2014
On August 5, volunteer attorneys filed an amicus brief from numerous religious organizations, congregations, and individual...
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
You probably know that the ACLU case seeking the freedom to marry, Wolf v. Walker, is scheduled to have oral arguments in...
Thursday, July 31, 2014
The Wisconsin State Supreme Court today issued a ruling in Appling v. Walker, holding that the domestic partnership registry...
Thursday, June 26, 2014
The ACLU of Wisconsin would like to speak to same-sex couples who were married between June 6-13, 2014 since they are...
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
By Chris Ahmuty   June 6, 2014, will go down in Wisconsin history as the day when county clerks first issued marriage...
Saturday, June 14, 2014
In 2006, Wisconsin Referendum 1 passed, and became Article XIII, Section 13 of the state constitution.  It banned same-...