LGBT Rights

Thursday, June 26, 2014
The ACLU of Wisconsin would like to speak to same-sex couples who were married between June 6-13, 2014 since they are...
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
By Chris Ahmuty   June 6, 2014, will go down in Wisconsin history as the day when county clerks first issued marriage...
Saturday, June 14, 2014
In 2006, Wisconsin Referendum 1 passed, and became Article XIII, Section 13 of the state constitution.  It banned same-...
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
After Judge Crabb issues her decision in Wolf v. Walker, we will be hosting Decision Day rallies TODAY from 4:30 to 6:30pm...
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Update:  In February, we amended our complaint to add four additional couples for a total of eight couples seeking the...
Friday, April 18, 2014
As the executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Wisconsin (ACLU-WI), and a gay man, I spend a lot of time...
Thursday, April 3, 2014
Salud Garcia and Pam Kleiss Madison Salud, 50, and Pam, 49, were both working for the American Association of Retired...
Thursday, March 20, 2014
The following is an opinion piece reprinted with permission from the author. By Syd Robinson President Obama received a...
Thursday, February 13, 2014
We received the following email from Scott Hestekin on February 3, the day we filed our freedom to marry...
Monday, February 3, 2014
On February 3, the American Civil Liberties Union, the ACLU of Wisconsin, and the law firm of Mayer Brown filed a federal...
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
The American Civil Liberties Union of Wisconsin filed an amicus brief Friday in support of an appeals decision in...
Monday, August 19, 2013
  Updated Aug. 29, 2013: The U.S. Treasury and Internal Revenue Service announced today that all legal same-sex...